In the thirteenth century the kings of France seek to assert their sovereignty in Vivarais Septentrional and why, strive to gain the support of local lords. The 7 November 1291, Gérenton, Lord St Romain Valmordane, does homage to Philip the Fair of his castle of St Romain through the amount of an income year of all assets included in this tribute. By the same contract (paréage), Gerenton sold to Philip the Fair "adequate and proper" land for the construction of a city that will host a Royal Court of Justice (balliage) for all the High Vivarais. In 1294 Philippe le Bel grants the "villa nova Inceio" a charter franchise in which its inhabitants are exempt from all taxes and then (toll-size) except the salt tax (tax on salt) militia etc.… This location should increase the population increase. In 1368 the town will have to 11 royal notaries

But during the Hundred Years War (XIV, Fifteenth century) armed gangs looting the region; That is why it was decided to fortify the hill Boucieu. Part of the downtown will be demolished and rebuilt higher following a well-defined plan to serve as walls.

When the Hundred Years War ends, around 1446, the dust settles, a period of reconstruction begins. The people too cramped in these houses designed like most rough shelters, descend to the foot of the hill to build the city of Boucieu, as we see today, almost intact.

Informations : www.boucieuleroi.com

Au XIIIème siècle les rois de France cherchent à affirmer leur suzeraineté dans le Vivarais Septentrional et pour cela, s’efforcent d’obtenir le soutien des petits seigneurs locaux. Le 7 novembre 1291, Gérenton, seigneur de St Romain Valmordane, fait hommage à Philippe le Bel de son château de St Romain moyennant le montant d’une année de revenus de tous ses biens compris dans cet hommage. Par ce même contrat (paréage), Gérenton vend à Philippe le Bel un terrain «suffisant et convenable» pour la construction d’une ville qui sera le siège d’une Cour Royale de Justice (balliage) pour tout le Haut Vivarais. En 1294 Philippe le Bel octroie à la «villa nova de Boceio» une charte de franchise par laquelle ses habitants sont exempts de tous les impôts d’alors (péage-taille) sauf la gabelle (impôt sur le sel) milice etc… Cette situation privilégiée doit accroître l’augmentation de la population. En 1368 le bourg comptera jusqu’à 11 notaires royaux

Mais pendant la guerre de cent ans (XIV, XVème siècle) des bandes armées pillent la région; c’est pourquoi décision est prise de fortifier la butte de Boucieu. Une partie de la ville basse sera démolie et reconstruite plus haut suivant un plan bien défini pour servir de remparts.

Quand la guerre de cent ans se termine, aux alentours de 1446, le calme revenu, une période de reconstruction commence. Les habitants trop à l’étroit dans ces maisons conçues la plupart comme des abris sommaires, redescendent au pied de la butte pour bâtir la ville de Boucieu, telle que nous la voyons aujourd’hui, presque intacte.

Informations : www.boucieuleroi.com