One day in April 1879, returned from his daily round of rural factor, Ferdinand Cheval, which then 43 years, stumbles over a stone so bizarre that it reminds him of a dream gradually sinking into oblivion : a magical dream beyond imagination. This is consacrer 33 years of its existence to shape, night after night, a monument to stubbornness.

Independent of all artistic movements, beyond the limits of architectural technique, Palace is the perfect illustration of naive architecture and art brut. Defended by André Malraux, Palace was a historical monument in 1969. Ferdinand Cheval was the inspiration and homage of many artists from the current surrealist : André Breton, Pablo Picasso, Max Ernst, Below de Saint Phalle ...

Each year artists are invited to the palace for an exceptional meeting. Artists and multisite “all keys”, painters, plastic, singular creators ... The work of Ferdinand Cheval is an inspiration as a challenge to the imagination, obstinacy.

Horse, Ideal Palace and music, What a unique experience to live for the public that the invited artists every year !

The Ideal Palace concerts are an intimate setting in the heart of lush greenery as Ferdinand Cheval built his palace in his garden. Seduced by the place of artists, the idea and the monumental work of Ferdinand Cheval. The opportunity to discover other lights in this unique work and enjoy a special closeness to the artist.

Site officiel : www.facteurcheval.com

Un jour d’avril 1879, au retour de sa tournée quotidienne de facteur rural, Ferdinand Cheval, qui a alors 43 ans, bute sur une pierre si bizarre qu’elle lui rappelle un rêve qui sombrait peu à peu dans l’oubli : un rêve féérique dépassant son imagination. Il va consacrer 33 années de son existence à modeler, nuit après nuit, un monument d’obstination.

Indépendant de tous courants artistiques, ne relevant d’aucune technique architecturale, le Palais idéal est l’illustration de l’architecture naïve et de l’art brut. Défendu par André Malraux, le Palais fût classé monument historique en 1969. Ferdinand Cheval a été la source d’inspiration et d’hommages de nombreux artistes issus du courant des surréalistes : André Breton, Pablo Picasso, Max Ernst, Niki de Saint Phalle…

Chaque année des artistes sont conviés au Palais pour une rencontre d’exception. Artistes multisites et « touches à tout », peintres, plasticiens, créateurs singuliers… L’œuvre de Ferdinand Cheval est une source d’inspiration autant qu’un défi lancé à l’imagination, l’obstination.

Cheval, le Palais Idéal et la musique, voilà une expérience singulière à vivre tant pour le public que les artistes conviés chaque année !

Les concerts du Palais idéal se font un cadre intimiste au cœur d’ un écrin de verdure puisque Ferdinand Cheval a construit son Palais dans son potager. Des artistes séduits par le lieu, l’idée et l’œuvre monumentale de Ferdinand Cheval. L’occasion de découvrir sous d’autres lumières cette œuvre unique et de profiter d’une extraordinaire proximité avec les artistes.

Site officiel : www.facteurcheval.com